SafetyCam scoops double at National CIHT Awards

›SafetyCam emerged victorious in the Health & Safety at Work category and was crowned ‘Overall Winner’ at the CIHT Awards 2018.

The joint submission from Carnell and Kier Highways was highlighted by the judging panel as an excellent example of CIHT’s values, which fully deserved to receive the Institute’s top accolade.

The mobile road worker protection system is an intelligent site safety innovation which acts as a conspicuous deterrent and has been proven to improve driver behaviour. The dual camera system virtually eliminates vehicle incursions into traffic management and dramatically reduces the number of site vehicles exceeding speed restrictions when passing the workforce.

After receiving the Awards, Carnell’s Chief Executive Darren Nelson said, “I’m very proud of this achievement at the industry’s most prestigious awards ceremony. I’d like to thank our clients Kier Highways and Highways England who have collaborated with us to make this possible.”

Andy Butterfield, Head of Service Delivery for Highways England was on stage with the Carnell team to receive the Award and commented, “We have an ambitious plan to invest in innovative solutions that drive a step change in safety, customer service and delivery. SafetyCam is the pioneering example of how we can form alliances and deliver significant improvements in road worker safety.”

Dave Wright, Executive Director at Kier Highways remarked: “this Award is the result of many years’ hard work and collaboration with our key supply chain partners, who share our passion to deliver safety excellence.”

Carnell has an enviable reputation for developing innovations which improve road worker safety. These latest achievements add to a previous ‘Win’ and ‘Highly Commended’ collected at the CIHT Health & Safety at Work Awards over the last four years.

For more information on SAFETYcam, click here

The awards took place on 14th June at the Grand Connaught Rooms, London. he full list of winners can be found here:

Pictured: Left to right, Darren Nelson, Julia Bradbury (host), Andy Butterfield (Highways England), Mark Frost, Martin Parry, Aidan Clarke, Peter McNulty, Andreas Markides (CIHT President) and Ian Allen (Kier).